BACK TO LIST

sponsored by:



The ESWC2010 PhD Symposium aims at providing starting PhD students with a platform for receiving feedback on their work by other PhD Students and experienced researchers outside their own group or university. The Symposium aims at students doing their PhD in the area of semantic web technologies or related topics, in particular, this includes the topics of the ESWC2010 special tracks.

- Software and Services
- Mobility
- Web of Data
- Social Web
- Sensor Networks
- Ontologies and Reasoning
- Web Science
- Semantic Web in Use

Note, that submissions should have a clear focus on the use or the development of semantic web technologies in or for at least one of these areas. For more detailed information about possible topics we refer to the Call for papers of the respective track.

While the Symposium is open to all PhD Students, it is first of all meant for PhD Students at the beginning of their work that have a well defined problem statement and some ideas about the solution that they want to discuss with.

Submissions should be structured around the following topics which are the key methodological components required for a sound research narrative:

- Problem: describe the core problem of the PhD and motivate its relevance for the Semantic Web area;
 - State of the art: describe relevant related work and point out areas that need to be

improved;

- Proposed Approach: present the approach taken and motivate how this is novel with respect to existing work;
- Methodology: sketch the methodology that is (or will be) adopted and, in particular, the approach to be taken for evaluating the results of the work;
- Results: describe the current status of the work and any results that have been reached so far;
 - Conclusions and future work: conclude and specify the major items of future work.

Note that students which have a paper accepted in the main research track on a certain topic can still submit a paper in which they describe the overall idea and status of their PhD following the template above.

Each submitted paper will be reviewed by a number of experienced researchers that provide feedback on your plans and suggest future directions. The Program committee will pick papers for oral and poster presentations. Authors attending the conference will be assigned a senior researcher as mentor to provide more detailed feedback in a personal discussion. Accepted papers will be published in the proceedings of ESWC 2010 that are published by Springer in the LNCS series. The PC will select the best paper which will be received an award sponsored by the LarKC Project (www.larkc.eu). Further, authors of accepted papers can apply for a travel grant also sponsored by the LarKC project. Details about the application will be announced after the notification.

Submissions must be no longer than 5 pages and must be formatted in the style of the Springer Publications format for Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS). Papers must be in PDF (Adobe's Portable Document Format) format and must be submitted electronically through the conference submission site. Papers will not be accepted in any other format.

Papers should be submitted through the Easychair system: http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=eswc2010phdsymposium

Important Dates:

- Submission: January 15, 2010 (11:59 pm Hawaii time)

Notification: February 24, 2010Camera Ready: March 10, 2010PhD-symposium: May 31, 2010

Organizers

Annette ten Teije, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, NL (annette@cs.vu.nl)
Heiner Stuckenschmidt, University of Mannheim, DE (heiner@informatik.uni-mannheim.de)

Program Commitee

Karl Aberer, EPFL, CH

Grigoris Antoniou, FORTH-ICS, GR

Mathieu d'Aquin, The Open University, UK

Lora Arroyo, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, NL

Barry Bishop STI Innsbruck, Universität Innsbruck, AT

Paolo Bouquet, University of Trento, IT

Paul Buitelaar, DERI Galway, National University of Ireland, IR

Philipp Cimiano, University of Bielefeld, DE

Isabel Cruz, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA

Jérôme Euzenat, INRIA & LIG, FR

Fabien Gandon, INRIA Sophia-Antipolis, FR

Chiara Ghidini, FBK-irst, IT

Paul Groth, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, NL

Siggi Handschuh, DERI Galway, Ireland

Eero Hyvönen, Helsinki University of Technology and University of Helsinki, FI

Patrick Lambrix, Linköping University, Sweden

Gergely Lukacsy, DERI Galway, National University of Ireland, IR

Thomas Lukasiewicz, University of Oxford, UK

Diana Maynard, University of Sheffield, UK

Peter Mika, Yahoo! Research, ES

Dunja Mladenic, J.Stefan Institute, SL

Mathias Niepert, University of Mannheim, DE

Natasha Noy, Stanford University, USA

Jacco van Ossenbruggen, Centre for Math. and Computer Sciences, NL

Jeff Z. Pan, University of Aberdeen, UK.

Terry Payne, University of Liverpool, UK

Sebastian Rudolph, Karlsruhe, DE

Marta Sabou, Open University, UK

Stefan Schlobach, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, NL

Pavel Shvaiko, TasLab, Informatica Trentina, IT

Sergej Sizov, University of Koblenz, DE

Elena Simperl, STI Innsbruck, AT

Umberto Straccia, ISTI-CNR, IT

Johanna Voelker, University of Mannheim, DE

Holger Wache, University of Applied Science Northweastern Switzerland, CH